Jerry Durling

Aaron Kyle

Frank Shepperson

Lynn Stetson

Dave Walsh

John Watts

Hanna Zavecz

1976 WAC Co-Champion Football Team


Laramie, Wyo., Feb. 24, 2016 – Three outstanding football players, an All-American basketball player, an accomplished swimmer, a rodeo champion, the “Voice of the Cowboys”, and a championship football team comprise the 2016 class of the University of Wyoming Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees include: Jerry Durling (Football, 1965-66), Aaron Kyle (Football, 1972-75), Frank Shepperson (Rodeo, 1961-64), Lynn Stetson (Men’s Swimming, 1980-83), Dave Walsh, Broadcaster (Special Achievement, 1984-present), John Watts (Football, 1954-56), Hanna Zavecz (Women’s Basketball, 2005-08), and the 1976 WAC Co-Champion Football Team.

A total of 149 individuals and 16 teams have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1993. Its plaque display is located in the concourse of the Arena-Auditorium.

The Hall of Fame Committee met in January to make its final selections for this year’s class. The inductees must fit into one of five categories: student-athlete, coach, team, athletics staff member or special achievement. The special achievement category includes individuals who have contributed to the ideal of sports at the University. Each nominee must receive at least 75 percent of the committee’s vote to be eligible for induction. Nominations are encouraged and must be submitted by Sept. 1st in order to be considered for the following year’s class. For more information, see the selection criteria.

Members of the committee are: Mike Schutte (Chairman), Tom Burman, Gary Crum, Tom Frazier, Stig Hallingbye (Vice Chairman), Jim House, Julie Manning, Margie McDonald, Kevin McKinney, Brian Morgen, Jared Newland, and Bruce Pivic.