Thomas “Rupe” Garrison
Walker “Sonny” Jones, Jr.
Geir I. Kvernmo
Brian J. Lee
Dave Myers
Steve Scifres
1978-79 Women’s Basketball Team


March 1, 2008


Three football standouts, a champion hurdler, a two-sport All-American, a champion wrestler, and a very successful women’s basketball team comprise the latest class of the University of Wyoming Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame, Selection Committee Chairman Ken Cook announced Saturday.

The dinner and induction ceremony for the Hall of Fame’s 16th class will be held in September at the UW Union Ballroom.

The inductees include: Thomas “Rupe” Garrison, a hurdler who won five conference championships during his career; Walker “Sonny” Jones, Jr., a productive running back and kick returner; Geir I. Kvernmo, an All-American in both Track and Skiing; Brian J. Lee, an All-American cornerback; Dave Myers, UW’s only four-time conference champion wrestler; Steve Scifres, one of the greatest offensive linemen ever to wear the Wyoming uniform; and the 1978-79 Women’s Basketball team, coached by Margie McDonald to a record of 25-7.

“As is the case every year, we are extremely proud of this class,” Cook said. “This group certainly left its mark on the University and the state of Wyoming. We are looking forward to the banquet in September.”

A total of 97 individuals and eight teams have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1993. Its plaque display is located on the second floor of the Rochelle Athletics Center.

The Hall of Fame Committee met in January to make its final selections for this year’s class. The inductees must fit into one of five categories: student-athlete, coach, team, athletics staff members or special achievement. Special achievement includes individuals who have contributed to the ideal of sports at the University. Each nominee must receive at least 75 percent of the committee’s vote to be eligible for induction.

Members of the committee are: Barbara Burke, Ken Cook (chairman), Ron Flack, Stig Hallingbye, Dave Madia, Margie McDonald, Kevin McKinney, Brian Morgen, Lisa Skiles Parady, Mike Schutte and Dave Walsh.