Elsie Jo Bonger
Brenda Graham Gray
Jerome “Jerry” Jester
Dave McCleave
Dick Sherman
Randy Welniak
1968 Ski Team


March 3, 2007


Two football standouts, one of the greatest female distance runners in school history, one of the finest scorers/rebounders in Cowboy basketball history, an All-American golfer, a long-time football secretary and the 1968 National Champion ski team comprise the latest class of the University of Wyoming Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame, Selection Committee Chairman Ken Cook announced Saturday.

The dinner and induction ceremony for the Hall of Fame’s 15th class is scheduled for Friday, September 7, at the UW Union Ballroom.

The inductees include: Elsie Jo Bonger, the football office secretary who worked for seven different coaching staffs; Brenda Graham Gray, who not only earned All-American honors in cross country, but also holds records in two track events; football greats, Jerry Jester, an outstanding all-purpose player of the 1950’s, and Randy Welniak, one of the most decorated quarterbacks in school history; Dave McCleave, one of the finest Cowboy golfers of all time; Dick Sherman, a great basketball player during the 1960’s, and the Cowboy ski team which captured the 1968 national championship.

“As is the case every year, we are extremely proud of this class,” Cook said. “This group certainly left its mark on the University and the state of Wyoming. We are looking forward to the banquet in September.”

A total of 91 individuals and seven teams have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1993. Its plaque display is located on the second floor of the Rochelle Athletics Center.

The Hall of Fame Committee met in January to make its final selections for this year’s class. The inductees must fit into one of five categories: student-athlete, coach, team, athletics staff members or special achievement. Special achievement includes individuals who have contributed to the ideal of sports at the University. Each nominee must receive at least 75 percent of the committee’s vote to be eligible for induction.

Members of the committee are: Barbara Burke, Ken Cook, chairman, Ron Flack, Stig Hallingbye, Dave Madia, Margie McDonald, Kevin McKinney, Brian Morgen, Lisa Skiles Parady, Mike Schutte and Dave Walsh.