Staale Engen
Jerry Frude
Steinar Hybertsen
Bob Jacobs
Chuck Lamson
Karen Sanford Gall
1966 Football Team


Feb. 13, 2010


Two football standouts, a national champion skier, a two-sport star, a heralded wrestler, and a very successful football team comprise the latest class of the University of Wyoming Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame, Selection Committee Chairman Ken Cook announced Saturday.

The dinner and induction ceremony for the Hall of Fame’s 18th class will be held in the fall at the UW Convention Center/Hilton Garden Inn Ballroom. The exact date will be announced later this spring.

This year’s inductees include: Staale Engen, a two-sport star in Track and Skiing; Jerry Frude, a key member of the 1959-60 Wrestling Team; Steinar Hybertsen, a three-time national champion skier; Bob Jacobs, a record-setting placekicker and punter; Chuck Lamson, a star quarterback, halfback and defensive back; Karen Sanford Gall, an All-American track athlete, and the 1966 Football Team.

“As is the case every year, we are extremely proud of this class,” Cook said. “This group certainly left its mark on the University and the state of Wyoming. We are looking forward to honoring them at the banquet this fall.”

A total of 111 individuals and ten teams have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1993. Its plaque display is located in the concourse of the Arena-Auditorium.

The Hall of Fame Committee met in January to make its final selections for this year’s class. The inductees must fit into one of five categories: student-athlete, coach, team, athletics staff members or special achievement. The special achievement category includes individuals who have contributed to the ideal of sports at the University. Each nominee must receive at least 75 percent of the committee’s vote to be eligible for induction.

Members of the committee are: Ken Cook (chairman), Stig Hallingbye, Dave Madia, Margie McDonald, Kevin McKinney, Molly Moore, Brian Morgen, Jared Newland, Bruce Pivic, Mike Schutte and Dave Walsh.