1978-79 Women’s Basketball Team

Coached by UW Hall of Famer Margie McDonald, who was named Intermountain Coach of the Year, the 1978-79 Women’s Basketball team compiled an overall record of 25-7 and an Intermountain Conference record of 10-4. The most successful Cowgirl team ever at the time, they earned a post-season berth in the AIAW Regional Tournament at Tucson, where they lost in the first round to Weber State, 74-70. The team included players Nancy Anderson, Kim Benton, Cindy Bower, Denise Davies, Linda Gilpin, Lori Kline, Becky Kusler, Dale Ann Meeker, Linda Mondt, Sue Owens, Lori J. Rayfield, Debra Reed, Linda Schmidt, and Rosann Wisroth. The team manager was Barb Kisicki, and the student-trainers were Karla Michelena and Chris Villegas. Led by first-team All-Conference Linda Gilpin, and fellow starters Rosann Wisroth, Dale Ann Meeker, Cindy Bower (all Wyoming natives), and Sue Owens, the Cowgirls set and still hold school records for team rebounds in a game (77 vs. Southern Colorado in 1978); blocked shots in a game (15 against Northern Arizona in 1979); steals in a game (27 vs. Western Wyoming in 1979); points scored in a season (2464 in 33 games); field goals attempted in a season (2308); and rebounds in a season (1573).