1959-1960 Wyoming Cowboy Wrestling Team

The 1959-60 Wyoming Cowboys became the first and only wrestling team in school history to finish in the top five at the NCAA Wrestling Championships. The Pokes won the Skyline Conference and finished the season with an impressive 11-1 dual record. The team boasted five conference champions; Dave Hanson at 123 pounds, Jerry Frude at 147 pounds, Dick Ballinger at 167 pounds, Lyle Brownlee at 177 pounds and Howard Colling at heavyweight. Carl Scott took second at 137 pounds, Herb French placed third at 130 pounds, and 157 pound Kent Davis took fourth. Seven Cowboys competed at the 1960 NCAA Wrestling Championships where the Cowboys came only 13 points away from the title finishing 3rd, the highest finish in school history. That season, Dick Ballinger won the National Championship at 167 pounds while Jerry Frude finished second at 147 pounds and Dave Hansen placed third at 123 pounds. Ballinger, Frude and Hansen all earned All-American honors. The Cowboys’ success earned head coach Everet Lantz 1960 NCAA Coach of the Year honors from the National American Wrestlers Association.

Inducted September 12, 2003