1956 University Of Wyoming Football Team

Football, 1956

One of the greatest football teams in school history, the 1956 team was only one of three Cowboy teams in the modern era to go undefeated, putting together a phenomenal 10-0 season. Head Coach Phil Dickens Cowboys pounded opponents throughout the season, giving up just 19 points in their last three games. Captained by Ova Stapleton, the team boasted of an All-American in Jim Crawford who became the school’s first 1,000-yard rusher. The Cowboys came out of the chute rolling by beating Western State 40-13 and a tough Arizona team 26-20, to open the season. They shutout Denver University, 27-0, in game three. The running game proved to be important to the Cowboys as they picked up three more wins against conference opponents Colorado A&M, New Mexico and Utah. The Cowoys came from behind to beat Kansas State and narrowly defeated Brigham Young 7-6, in the final regular-season game of the year. Wyoming was one of the only three undefeated teams in the country, and finished ranked 16th in the nation by United Press International. The team was invited to the Sun Bowl for the second straight season, but voted not to go in anticipation of another invitation to either the Gator or Sugar Bowl. That invitation never came because of a coaching staff change. That, however, did not diminish the tremendous accomplishments of this, one of Wyoming’s all-time great teams.

Inducted September 28, 2001